A farewell to Shiraaaaa

As my time in South Africa is coming to an end, I can’t help but think of all of those people who made my time spent here so special. For those of you who read this site regularly (so there are about 4 of you, right?), you all know Shira, who was another volunteer for the same U.S. organization.

Placed up by Kruger, her experience in South Africa was a bit different than mine, but given the fact that I saw her at least once a month, many of our experiences here are shared! Shira left South Africa before I did, so Andrea and I took her to the airport for one last hurrah before she left for the States.

So here’s to Shira, who made life here in South Africa infinitely more fun, funny and bearable.

Top Ten Memories of Shira (in no particular order):

  1. Our first weekend of hanging out – consisted of going to see Freshly Ground with John and Janna, a flat tire, dancing sookie at an Afrikaans bar, staying out ’til 3am and sleeping on cushions.
  2. World Cup – leg injuries and black eyes. Seriously, I can’t help but get injured with her around.
  3. Marathon email exchanges about any and every single thing
  4. Boot camp
  5. Our “don’t say anything but…” plans
  6. Week-long visits to Jozi
  7. IGYN discussions
  8. Weekend jaunts (Kruger, Cape Town, the Garden Route, etc.)
  9. The long goodbye
  10. Shiraaaaaa vs. Katieeeeeee

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  1. World Cup – leg injuries and black eyes. Seriously, I can’t help but get injured with her around.

Leave a comment