The long good-bye

The night before I flew back from South Africa, my colleagues organized a really nice farewell party for me – an evening spent at a restaurant/bar down in Soweto with all of my colleagues and several other people I came to know over the course of the year. During an awkward hour, every single person there got up and said a good-bye to me. During an even more awkward 10 minutes, I got up and thanked them and said goodbye to them. It’s not easy to say goodbye to people you are likely to never see again…but if I’ve learned nothing this year, I’ve learned that people you care about, and people who have made a difference in your life, are with you all the time, even when they are not physically present.

With Fiks

I might not miss car-guards, but I will miss my co-workers.

Leave a comment